This post contains affiliate links and our team will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on the links.

“It’s about the struggle”

Black Lightning has taken the CW by storm, bringing in a unique and fresh look at the world of super heroes. The show is a breakaway from the norm of the Arrowverse, being a standalone series focusing on the family of Jefferson Pierce. The series itself is raw, real, and a constant struggle between being true to yourself and protecting the common good.

Pierce, played by Cress Williams, is the principal of his local high school, being a symbol of strength and peace for the African American community. Yet, very few know a deep secret that he has been struggling with for almost a decade. Nine years prior, Pierce took to the streets as the legendary vigilante, Black Lightning. With incredible strength and the ability to harness the power of electricity, Black Lightning helped take down some of the city’s darkest agents, but at a steep personal cost. Despite all his hard work, things are now worse than ever, as crime surges and consumes the community. Pierce will have to take up the mantle of Black Lightning once again, hoping to find peace for not only his city, but also his family.

The series is a pillar of diversity, taking us beyond the generic super hero story and into the life of an African American centric community. Having that representation creates a unique perspective that is definitely worth exploring. It’s all blended together with strong character development and story, bringing viewers right into the personal struggle and drama that Black Lightning must overcome. Everything revolves around family and what it means to stand up for what you believe in. That’s a message that everyone can relate to, regardless of background, which is key to how this series ticks.

The series set comes with a handful of features, including a huge assortment of deleted scenes. For those wanting to dive right in, the majority of the features can be found on the second disc, including two short featurettes discussing the core themes behind the show. The first, titled “Art Imitating Life: The Pilot Episode”, focuses on what the creative team was trying to achieve with opening up the world of Black Lightning to the audience. It’s an up close look at what to look for in that first episode, bringing you right into the creative process.

The second feature, titled “A Family of Strength” brings you an in depth conversation of what it means to be a part of the Pierce family. Pierce will find that he’s not alone in his battle, as both his daughters are learning their own abilities and powers. As the series progresses, the connections and bonds they all share grow, and the featurette really brings it all front and center. Viewers will also be able to view the show’s debut Comic Con Panel, which is sure to be exciting leading into development for this year’s big event.

You can see the full features list below!

  • Black Lightning Comic-Con panel
  • A Family of Strength
  • Black Lightning Come Visit Georgia
  • Gag Reel
  • Deleted Scenes

Includes all 13 One Hour Episodes!

1.      The Resurrection

2.      LaWanda: The Book of Hope

3.      LaWanda: The Book of Burial

4.      Black Jesus

5.      And Then the Devil Brought the Plague: The Book of Green Light

6.      Three Sevens: The Book of Thunder

7.      Equinox: The Book of Fate

8.      The Book of Revelation

9.      The Book of Little Black Lies

10.   Sins of the Father: The Book of Redemption

11.   Black Jesus: The Book of Crucifixion

12.   The Resurrection and the Light: The Book of Pain

13.   Shadow of Death: The Book of War

Black Lightning: The Complete First Season is now available in both DVD and Blu-Ray formats and can be purchased through most major retailers such as Best Buy, Target, and Amazon. You can learn more about the series by visiting the show’s official site!