This post contains affiliate links and our team will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on the links.

Volume 1
Experience the classic Marvel® legacy as the X-Men animated series finally explodes onto DVD for the first time.  Featuring stories adapted directly from the original comic books, this collection is a piece of Marvel history and a must-have for every X-Men fan. Discover the origins of your favorite characters and uncover the secrets of Magneto and more of the world’s most diabolical villains in X-Men: Volume 1.

This Volume 1 set contains 16 episodes. Season 1 contained 13 episodes, so this set also contains the first 3 episodes for Season 2. The beginning of Season 2 reintroduces a new character and covers the marriage of Scott and Jean.

It’s a great start to the series, but since they cover such important storylines in this and the second season, the remainder of the series feels slightly disjointed or less important. They got the best out of the way early and were left with a lot of single stories later in the series.


Episode Guide:


Disc 1
Night of the Sentinels (Part 1)
Night of the Sentinels (Part 2)
Enter Magneto
Deadly Reunions
Captive Hearts
Cold Vengeance
Slave Island
The Unstoppable Juggernaut

Disc 2
The Cure
Come The Apocalypse
Days Of Future Past (Part 1)
Days Of Future Past (Part 2)
The Final Decision
Till Death Do Us Part (Part 1)
Till Death Do Us Part (Part 2)
Whatever It Takes



Volume 2

Prepare for more electrifying action as the X-Men return in Volume 2 of the classic animated series! The amazing mutant heroes are back for 2 discs full of spine-tingling battles with Mr. Sinister, Omega Red and more of the most fiendish villains on earth! Viewers will be a part of Marvel® history with these stories adapted directly from the original comic books.  Experience 16 thrilling episodes, including the 5-part amazing epic “Phoenix Saga,” in this must-have collection!

When you check out the X-Men: Volume 2 Animated DVD set, you’ll notice a big improvement in the animation. After the success of the first season, the creative team behind this Marvel series went all out. Unfortunately, there are no extras. With the history the X-Men have, something could have been added to this set.

Episode Guide:


Disc 1
Red Dawn
Repo Man
X-Ternally Yours
Time Fugitives (Part 1)
Time Fugitives (Part 2)
A Rogue’s Tale
Beauty & The Beast
Mojo Vision

Disc 2
Reunion (Part 1)
Reunion (Part 2)
Out of the Past (Part 1)
Out of the Past (Part 2)
The Phoenix Saga (Part 1): Sacrifice
The Phoenix Saga (Part 2): The Dark Shroud
The Phoenix Saga (Part 3): Cry of the Banshee
The Phoenix Saga (Part 4): The Starjammers
The Phoenix Saga (Part 5): Child of Light